Roddy White: No Stranger to Controversy

I said Roddy White doesn’t shy away from controversy in my previous post. And, as if it’s any surprise, White was involved in yet another Twitter controversy.

A follower asked White if he would rather win the Super Bowl of lead the league in receiving yards. White responded with:

Would u rather be gay or straight come on u know that answer RT @Mack_Vaughn You would rather lead the league in stats than win a … 

Naturally, a multitude of people were offended. White then responded with:

Freedom of speech. I don’t care how much money I make. I should be held to my own standards and not the standards of others opinion. 

Later, White provided an apology:

Ok people I apologize for saying the word gay I know it’s a sensitive subject and a athlete of my stature should not use it 

I thought White was laying low on Twitter after the tweet about NFL commissioner Roger Goodell’s salary in February. Before that, there was the Twitter battle with the Saints and Trent Dilfer in 2010.

I’d imagine someone in the front office has had or will have a few talks with White about using Twitter.

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Roddy White: No Stranger to Controversy

  1. […] few months ago, I highlighted a few of White’s Twitter battles. Now, after we learned everyone at Penn State is without […]

  2. […] few months ago, I highlighted a few of White’s Twitter battles. Now, after we learned everyone at Penn State is without […]

  3. […] what’s on his mind. He’s made headlines on Twitter, whether it’s talking about gay people or weighing in on Penn […]

Leave a Reply

