Julio Jones’ Actual Stats Vs. My Projected Stats

Although he didn't put up the stats I thought he would, Julio Jones still had a great year. (Josh D. Weiss)

Although he didn’t put up the numbers I projected, Julio Jones still had a great year. (Josh D. Weiss)

Back in April, I predicted Atlanta Falcons wide receiver Julio Jones would have a monster season.

My projected stats for Jones:

80 receptions, 1,341 yards, 13 touchdowns

Jones’ actual stats:

79 receptions, 1,198 yards, 10 touchdowns

I almost nailed the receptions, but I was off the mark a little with the yards and touchdowns. I figured Tony Gonzalez would play a lesser role in his 16th season, but the ageless tight end caught 93 balls for 930 yards and eight touchdowns.

However, Jones did end the season with a huge game against the San Francisco 49ers in the NFC Championship Game; he had 11 receptions for 182 yards and two touchdowns in the loss. He was also selected to his first Pro Bowl.

The scary thing is Jones hasn’t even begun to reach his ceiling.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

